Hike Lesson #1

Mt. Eielson

Mt. Eielson

I took a hike with an eloquent, thoughtful man who happened to be 83 years old. He asked me if I knew what the key to happiness was. I responded that I did not and he proceeded to inform me that the key to happiness, backed up by 70 years of Harvard research was love and relationships, basically connections to other people. Made me think a little. He has been on the planet for 83 years and can still hike a mountain in Alaska while discussing the choices people make in their lives and what makes us all feel fulfilled and content. I always go out on these hikes thinking about what I can teach people and yet so many times I end up learning just as much (or more) from my guests. 

Leave a Reply

