Guests Hikes

I have been very lucky all season and as the summer comes to a close I have been reflecting on the fact that I have had some fantastic guest hikes. Yeah sure, it can be tedious showing people how to correctly put on their gaiters and adjust their trekking poles, or answering for the 5th time that day where I spend my winters or trying to explain what it means to be a seasonal nomad. But almost all of my guests this summer have come armed with a good attitude and a sense of adventure and for that I owe them a lot. It is because of these folks that I have had the privilege to spend my summer days eating lunches in the tundra scanning the horizon for caribou or gazing in awe at the Alaska Range. It is their good attitudes and willingness to challenge themselves that has allowed me to explore new places and try different hikes. Most of all it is their curiosity and their engagement with the environment that has challenged me and encouraged me to keep learning more about this amazing place. Camp Denali has an amazing community- both staff and guests.

Ridge Lunch

Ridge Lunch

Spring time hiking

Spring time hiking

Snowy Ridge

Snowy Ridge

Post hole

Post hole

Fall colors

Fall colors

Leave a Reply

